Dogs + Fetch + Beach

I know – overkill on the dog rompin’ beach pics, right? Have I turned into a forsaken mommydoggyblogger? The weather has been just too nice to resist, and we didn’t move 10 minutes from the ocean for nothing.

:::

So, let’s chalk it up to homework, shall we?

Couldn’t get enough of those portraits… and learning all the in- and-outs of my AV setting (Aperture Priority). I’m working on capturing those perfect clear subjects and backgrounds fading softly out of focus.

:::

Now, onto some shots to capture motion and stop motion – in our TV setting (Shutter Priority). I’ll be honest – it was tough. I started in complete blur of whiteness (we haven’t covered light or ISO so much yet)… and after a bit of toggling, I was able to snap  a few decent ones.

The goal of this exercise is to have the subject blurry and the background clear, showing motion. It was tough to get a good shot, and I had way more duds than good shots, that’s for sure…

:::

And then we flipped the challenge to capture a sharp subject, which also turned out to be challenging, especially trying to focus in a particular area while dogs and balls flew past. It took a few tries…

But in the end, I finally got a few…

And then I handed over the camera to get my own playtime in – and came back to quite a few shots of us mid-play …

