Remember when I lived in Illinois and blogged here? Remember when I posted up a list recapping 2009 here?

Well! Here’s the 2010 edition! It always is a bit of a dread trying to get through these, but I actually think I have things to say this year, so here goes…

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before? Dreamed, planned, and moved across the country for no particular reason other than we thought we’d like it. Quit my job of 8+ years. Went to Mexico. Started creating stamped accessories for fun, then as a second job, now as a fulltime one. Put our house on the market. Rented and took our house off the market. Visited family in Texas (that eeked into 2010 by 1 day). Lived close to the ocean. Drove through New York and Ohio and Pennsylvania and Massachusetts and Vermont. Went to Boston. Volunteered at a Farmer’s Market. Participated in a Craft/Art Show.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Well, let’s check. Here’s what I wrote last year:

Write more. Meh. Fail on this one. At least writing in journals. I certainly write more in my job now.

• Stop thinking so much and start doing. Just take a step– in any direction– and see what happens. Yes! Slam dunk on this one. Actually, such a slam dunk on this one that it kind of usurped time for any of the others.

• Continue to work on eating less preserved foods. Grow more of our own. Well, we started 2010 with receiving grow lights for Christmas and having big plans for our little space. But then, as things were set in motion to move, we didn’t dedicate as much time to growing what we couldn’t harvest.

• Spend more time in outside, in forests- hiking, snowshoeing, riding. Kind of. We went snowshoeing and dreamed of how nice it would be to snowshoe on our own land, rather than having to drive someplace to do it. We moved to a place where that was certainly possible, and spent some time exploring the forest we now live in front of. We’ve gone to the beach a few times with the pups, and as our schedule ‘normalizes’, we certainly want to spent more time exploring, hiking, etc. in the area. And we’d love to re-start riding lessons once we get a sense of how much we can afford.

Okay, looking ahead to 2011:

• Write more letters/cards to people, for no particular reason.

• Do something physically active more often. Get in a routine with that.

• FOR REAL THIS TIME: Cook more, less processed foods.

• Find a house we love. Not something we’re settling on, but really love. It doesn’t have to be A DREAM HOUSE, but at least some version of it.

• Work is life now for me (and I like that), but I need to find some balance outside of that.

• Continue to do something each week/month to get out an meet new people. Concerted effort here – volunteering, reaching out, etc.

These definitely don’t seem incredibly lofty, our we’re still on a learning curve these days – balancing a still unsure amount of money, time, and resources…

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? A close coworker, who is loving motherhood and still balancing it by still being completely awesome.

4. Did anyone close to you die? It wasn’t a great year in this department. In August of 2010, we lost both Jed’s Dad, and his best childhood friend, and our Groomsman, Ryan Hong.

5. What countries did you visit? Mexico.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010? A bit more normalcy in our schedule. With both of us still learning about our new jobs, we’re seemingly working around the clock to handle it. Hopefully, once we gauge this, we can carve out times for just us, friends, etc.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why. Oct 6, my last day at Manpower. Oct 10, the first day in New Hampshire.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Quitting my job and taking a chance on something new.

9. What was your biggest failure? It kind of feels like a failure that we weren’t able to sell our house, but I’m not that distressed about it. We’re holding off our loss with (what seems so far) to be great tenants, so we’re counting our blessings on that.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Thank goodness no.

11. What was the best thing you bought? My stamping stuff.

12. Where did most of your money go? A moving truck. Seriously, those things are pricey. Stamping supplies, packaging materials. Shipping. Mortgage. Rent.

15. What did you get really excited about? Quitting my job! Moving! Getting out of Illinois and exploring something new. Getting to stinkin’ MAKE A LIVING on something I MAKE, I CONTROL! Living near the ocean! Going to Maine anytime I want.

16. What song will always remind you of 2010? Almost Home. Our little blog’s namesake song. I just love it so much, and I played it over and over when I was up stamping songs. Click on the link above to play it or read the lyrics.

17. How did you spend Christmas? Driving back home on a three-week cross-country whirlwind extravaganza. It was great to see everyone, but I think we’re aiming for a lower-key Christmas next year.

18. Did you fall in love in 2010? We’re dating, but I think I’m loving New England.

19. What was your favorite TV program? Hm. Still not a big TV watcher. But I try to put the stamps down for Dancing With the Stars.

20. What was the best book you read? I’m still not great about reading books, but I did finish The Weight of Water by Anita Shreve.

21. What was your greatest musical discovery? Florence and the Machine. Kate Nash.  Josh Radin.

22. What did you want and get? A new job, something to do creatively, more flexibility.

23. What did you want and not get? A pony. Hah.

24. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 30. Jed and I went to Mexico to celebrate.

25. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Not a whole heck of a lot, except maybe more time.

26. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010? Dress pants, heels, sweaters…  and then stuffing them all in the guest closet.

27. What kept you sane? My pups, working, creating. Visiting new places. Jed.

28. Who did you miss? When we moved, I missed the casual ways we see friends and family. It takes so much effort now to coordinate, given the distance.

29 Who was the best new person you met? I met a few people, no one to consider ‘best’, I’d say. A definite resolution to meet many more in 2011.

30. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010. If you want change, just take a step– in any direction — and see what happens. When you do the same thing over and over again and expect different results, chances are, you’ll never see them.



