Tags

,

Right now, it feels like there is so much to do and so little to do all at the same time.

When I’m away from the house, I feel overwhelmed — overwhelmed by the packing, cleaning, sorting, organizing that needs to be done. But, when we’re at home, surrounded by boxes and piles and packing tape and permanent markers… it doesn’t feel so insurmountable. We have :::gulp::: three days left.

The truck will be here on Friday to load up our possessions and head East, and we’ll spend one last night in our house and hit the road on Saturday.  I’ll admit, I’m looking forward to the road trip. We’ll stuff the car with all our fragile stuff, food, plants… dogs… and hit the road for a long drive to Batavia, NY (I thought it’d only be fitting…) Because we don’t have possession until Monday, we’re going to take our time and hit Bennington, VT for a bit of leaf-peeping before the final short drive to New Hampshire.

For all the planning and packing, it doesn’t feel real yet. My alarm still goes off at 6am, I still sit in front of my computer all day at work. I still have a few tags to do at night. Other than the boxes and piles we step over, it kind of feels like we’re going on a big trip.

I have these lovely ideas swirling around my head about what I might do to get settled in and explore the area…. maybe I’ll get up early and take the dogs for walks on the beach. Maybe I’ll spend an afternoon exploring Portsmouth with a steaming Chai….  maybe I’ll join a gym and actually have time to work out again… maybe I’ll comb through antiques shops looking for fabulous pieces to accessorize the (hah) fabulous new england farmhouse we’ll certainly purchase in the future.

But in the meantime, it’s back to work.

